Day 6 – World Youth Day (Theme: Go and Make Disciples of All Nations)

DSC00838

DSC00835

We arrived where we were staying at the Immaculate Conception Church in Bota Fogo. Well the guys did. The girls all stayed with host families. We slept in a classroom building with our sleeping bags on the tile floor. Much more of what I was expecting!!

That afternoon I exchanged my money $70–>$150. It was nice to visit some place where I felt I could spend money without actually spending that much.

 We came together for an English mass at the church with all the groups staying at the church. The priest talked about Mary Magdalene. How when Jesus was missing from the tomb she said “we don’t know where he is”. And once He returned she said “I have seen the risen Lord”. He talked about how we pluralize negativity and spread it, but try to keep happiness and joy for ourselves.

 That night and most meals in Rio were fast food. I missed the Brazilian food we got in the Belo Horizonte.

Leave a comment